Becoming Crew
THE SPACESHIP EARTH PODCAST
Episode 56 - Dan Burgess - Becoming Crew - A Story about Stories
0:00
-26:15

Episode 56 - Dan Burgess - Becoming Crew - A Story about Stories

Hello 2022, hope this finds you well. I’ve been composting 2021. Episode 56  kicks off with something a bit different. An audio experiment to start the year. A story about stories. Last year I was invited to do a TED X Talk about the climate and ecological crisis, I wasn’t really sure what to talk about to be honest. I was struggling to think of what another white man, 50 years old could possibly add to all the noise in these extraordinary times. I was also feeling fairly burned out by the last two years, had just returned from COP26 and was strangely disoriented and quite frazzled. I decided to focus in on what I felt was the most valuable and useful learnings I have, that I could offer up in these unravelling and unknowing times. Even though I knew it might feel uncomfortable and challenging. I wanted to find a way to weave the vital threads of my inquiring over the last 15 years together with where my attention and work is deepening and orienting towards. It was quite a task to create, but I felt it didn’t end up working quite so well in a short talk format. Because it’s really a story about stories. So I decided to evolve and expand it and record it as a podcast, but a bit more immersive. It’s definitely right on my learning edge and I’m feeling a bit vulnerable putting this out. But that often means it needs to leave the nest. I really hope it speaks to you and if it does please consider sharing it with someone else. We’d be most grateful. And whatever it makes you think or feel - I'd love to hear any feedback. There are so many amazing humans and more than humans who have influenced the creation of this episode. You know who you are. I’d recommend headphones or a decent speaker setup for this one. And being still. Enjoy A massive shout to Charlie Shread - Audio Jedi for making this sound awesome. #becomingcrew #thespaceshipearthpodcast Link: The Great Acceleration https://www.slideshare.net/IGBPSecretariat/great-acceleration-2015 https://stories.life/ https://stories.life/chapter/the-narrative-of-separation/ Thanks for listening to The Spaceship Earth Podcast. Host: Dan Burgess @dan__burgess Edit: Charlie Shread Shownotes: Vicki Turner Music: Escape Goat by Soren Lorenson Join us on Instagram: @thespaceship.earth Subscribe to occasional newsletter: becomingcrew.substack.com/welcome If you wish to support The Spaceship Earth podcast, please leave us a review or share your favourite episode on social media. With gratitude

0 Comments
Becoming Crew
THE SPACESHIP EARTH PODCAST
We live on a life giving rock called Earth hurtling through space.
Like a spaceship, we have a finite amount of supplies with an intelligent operating system, called nature, which keeps everything replenished as long as we all respect and participate wisely.
In this podcast I’m in conversations with humans involved in regenerating life,
Shifting consciousness and re-imagining how we can live more beautifully and peacefully.
I talk with artists, writers, activists, designers, adventurers, healers, farmers, creative mavericks and more.
Their stories invite us to participate in the co-creation of life sustaining cultures.
In service to life.
Becoming crew on Spaceship Earth.